Sun- Salve

~*~*~

~*~*~

I wish to be scorched,
Get burnt through my pores.

Leaving my tired skin singed!
When the blisters leave,

Scratching through the cuts
A new face I shall be.

I stand under the Sun-
Till there is no more to Burn..
I now stand inside the Fire-
Till I lose all that I have earned..!!

~*~*~

Submitted for Friday Flash 55

#ea0000
52 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. libraryscene
    Jun 18, 2011 @ 03:18:31

    It certainly is the way to embrace change, even when not welcomed. Fine 55 ~

    Reply

  2. Monkey Man
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 23:34:47

    Like others, the phoenix came to mind as I read your 55. Nicely played.

    Reply

  3. brian
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 16:20:34

    like the transformative nature of your 55…burned cracked and broke open to reveal the new below…i like

    Reply

  4. joanny
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 14:53:43

    “en una noche oscura” The Dark night of the soul– that strange moment before we can be made new again — to reach perfection — we must all pass through the fires of transformation one by one, and those who made it can offer their hand to pull others through.
    powerful intense and profound…
    joanny

    Reply

    • Olivia
      Jun 18, 2011 @ 00:09:55

      Thank you Joanny!
      This is what I have gone through only lately. I had wrote this one almost in order to carve my destiny which looked gloomy then. Things are looking up now!
      Yes, I do try n pull out the others; it’s humbling indeed..

      Love n hugs Dear Girl xoxox

      Reply

  5. mairmusic
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 23:11:42

    The force of your words is potent! Nicely done.

    Reply

  6. honeyhaiku
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 21:50:46

    These are fevered words. Nicely done.

    Reply

  7. Henry Clemmons
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 08:09:50

    I won’t be wordy with this comment: INTENSE.

    Reply

  8. Isabella Taylor
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 05:56:18

    Amazing poetry !!!!!

    Reply

  9. tasithoughts
    Apr 27, 2011 @ 06:24:48

    Reply

  10. Apryl Gonzales Sweet
    Apr 25, 2011 @ 05:51:10

    Scratching through the cuts, a new face I shall be.
    What a powerful line, the desire for transformation every human heart longs for. Well done.

    Reply

    • Olivia
      Apr 25, 2011 @ 21:32:06

      Thank you Apryl!

      I have undergone some really rocky transformations! Keeping my experience in mind, I hereby yearned for yet another one to strike me. Although written months ago, I had as if foreseen this transition (I am undergoing now) to hit me.. It’s hit me now alright; quite forcefully!!

      I am glad you liked it..
      Sending you many Hugs xoxox

      Reply

  11. Emily Jane
    Apr 24, 2011 @ 23:33:51

    Very pretty but also dark and strong. Well done

    Reply

  12. lunawitch15
    Apr 24, 2011 @ 20:26:43

    or…
    you become the pheonix, rising anew with a fresh start and the knowledge that came before.
    lol
    🙂

    I do so love your poetry!

    Reply

  13. The Reason You Come
    Apr 24, 2011 @ 06:23:40

    Here’s to rebirth…to getting burned and surviving the fire! I think this has made you stronger.

    You had me at the first two lines:
    “I wish to be scorched,
    Get burnt through my pores.”

    Reply

    • Olivia
      Apr 24, 2011 @ 11:48:07

      You bet Dear! It has indeed made me resilient. First writing all of that without worrying for readers reaction (which has been very kind n encouraging) and now that I am on the fag end of the transition. I am wanting to spread my wings and fly away this time- one more time.. 🙂

      Sunday Hugs xox

      Reply

  14. A.B. Thomas
    Apr 23, 2011 @ 23:48:05

    Stunning, it was simply a stunning read

    Reply

  15. Someone is Special
    Apr 23, 2011 @ 22:32:42

    powerful Olivia.. as usual I love your poetry.. a first ~ sweet ~ pour for you to enjoy…

    Someone is Special

    Reply

  16. Andy
    Apr 23, 2011 @ 20:38:08

    Hello Olivia,
    I love your images…they always have a story to tell. Thank you for sharing.
    Be well and be strong, dear one.

    Warm wishes always,
    Andy

    Reply

  17. PinkLady
    Apr 23, 2011 @ 20:34:19

    i feel the pain and the courage to face a new beginning. but the scars will always be a constant reminder of the past. lovely poem, olivia!

    http://pinklady-bing.blogspot.com/2011/04/getting-high-on-sobriety.html

    Reply

    • Olivia
      Apr 24, 2011 @ 01:30:18

      Thank you Bing! I have some really strong people like you yourself are- around me!
      They ensure enough warm wishes are sent my way.. 😀

      Love xoxox

      Reply

  18. poetrydiary
    Apr 23, 2011 @ 16:07:03

    I think it is far better to welcome change and learning and always see the potential for newness and growth than to fight it and resist, so I feel this is a very positive and affirming poem, despite the pain. Good luck – it sounds like you deserve it.
    And it’s a great poem.
    Thanks.

    Reply

    • Olivia
      Apr 24, 2011 @ 01:38:57

      Thank you!
      That is indeed very kind of you.. 🙂

      I don’t resist changes- often they open me up to newer universes.. Thank you so much for your wishes!
      Pain humbles us down a great deal..

      Hugs xox

      Reply

  19. dasuntoucha
    Apr 23, 2011 @ 16:05:58

    Go Phoenix go!!! (^_^) Love this.

    Reply

  20. carefreewanderer
    Apr 23, 2011 @ 12:00:43

    Reminds me a little bit of Sylvia Plath poetry.Painful and real.Beautiful stuff!

    Reply

    • Olivia
      Apr 23, 2011 @ 12:09:42

      You know what.. I/my work have been compared with her many times earlier too! I take it as a compliment..
      Although my work is nowhere close to her- but could it be possible- I was she?

      A very welcoming and unbelievable thought.. 😀
      Weekend Hugs Dear
      xoxox

      Reply

  21. Paulami
    Apr 23, 2011 @ 11:12:53

    its a lot we give in for this newness. be good and stay good. 🙂

    Reply

  22. bendedspoon
    Apr 23, 2011 @ 00:47:34

    Brave woman to face suffering for that new self. Huggs 🙂

    Reply

    • Olivia
      Apr 23, 2011 @ 09:11:09

      Yeah! Incidentally, I had written this one last year as if I had known of the transition to hit me! Thank you.. 😀
      Many hugs xoxox

      Reply

  23. Vinay
    Apr 22, 2011 @ 22:41:37

    oh sad imagery, yeah.. but it had an Olly-ishness all over it. Very nice! 🙂 btw, red on this background is a li’l difficult to read.. could u make it black?

    Reply

  24. Jingle
    Apr 22, 2011 @ 22:24:42

    divine wishes…
    🙂

    well expressed.

    Reply

  25. CrbianFool
    Sep 24, 2010 @ 21:44:40

    Get up early? I wish!!!! I have insomnia (very long, dull story about a busted spinal cord) that keeps me reading and writing all night. I just started commenting on poetry blogs, and trying to get my shit out there a little farther into the electric world, so when I see new posts on blogs I subscribe to, I tend to post early. I read the poem with the last of the true night’s darkness before dusk, and it was beautiful, like I said. Felt the need to say something. Thanks for writing,

    crb.

    Reply

    • Olivia
      Sep 24, 2010 @ 22:50:57

      Sad to know about the insomnia part- I hope you are recovering for better..!!
      Would you care to share how you damaged your spine..??
      That poem was yet another trial to express how I wish to take all ugliness out of me- once and for all.. 😀

      Reply

  26. CrbianFool
    Sep 24, 2010 @ 14:32:31

    That is especially powerful at 5 a.m. in the darkness of another long night. Powerfully sad imagery. Beautiful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

http://twitter.com/ReadOlivia

My In- Mind Whirls Writes

free counters
