Embroidery Samples

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Mixed stitches Hand- Embroidery Samples. These were crafted some 16 years back.

These silk threads were bought when I wasn’t a part of this world yet. Mom’s leftover Silk threads that she had used to do her course of Textile Designing used to sit inside one box. She had taught me how to play with the needle and thread when I was 7 years old. Ever since I had always wanted to stitch a few samples.

These samples were done soon after I had appeared for my 12th boards in 1995. Although I had appeared for PMT (entrance test for Medical studies), I would spend most part of my day pricking the needles through the 110 years old cloth pieces! I haven’t done any thread work since then.

Maybe I would very soon..

  • Flower Baskets– how strikingly similar could be the pattern of mom- daughter duo!
17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Flower Baskets « Olivia's In- Mind Whirls..
  2. Bodhirose
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 23:42:09

    Oh, I was going to mention that one of my daughters gave me a tiny purple glass skull like the one you show on your header here. I suppose to inspire me to contemplate the meaning of death… Or what in my life needs to be “killed”! I mean that of course in the spiritual sense. šŸ™‚

    Reply

    • Olivia
      Feb 19, 2011 @ 00:06:53

      wow! Really awakened.. Which one of your little gems did it? Mahalakshmi or Mahasaraswati (don’t kill me if I got the names wrong..)
      Very thoughtful of her to have done that!

      So if not anything else, this purple skull could strike yet another set of cordiality with you… hahaha
      I am amazed at how simple things can bring people together! You wouldn’t believe it, although this is my header image for some time now I was blankly staring staring at it- perhaps just when you were typing your comment here- scary!!!! (O-O)

      Reply

      • Bodhirose
        Feb 19, 2011 @ 00:22:12

        I believe it was Mahan Lakshmi. Her older sister is just Saraswati (no Maha).

        Well how interesting that you were blankly staring at your header when I may have been mentioning it here. I too marvel at the little things that can “tie” us together. It’s so cool isn’t it?

        Love and hugs… xo

        Reply

  3. Bodhirose
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 23:39:37

    Olivia, I absolutely love embroidery. I have such a fascination for old, beautifully embroidered cloths. You have done such a remarkable job of it. I am so glad I happened to see on your sidebar where it mentioned embroidery…

    What a lovely talent to possess. I love them.

    Love and hugs…
    Gayle

    Reply

    • Olivia
      Feb 18, 2011 @ 23:58:05

      Thank you Dear Gayle,

      I must say, they were done just to kill time. I am sure I can do much better if I sit and do some serious stuff. I say so without being arrogant!
      Infact they are all old sample- details mentioned at the bottom. I guess, I would have to start making some more of these .. šŸ™‚

      I am blushing now.. Hugs xoxox

      Reply

      • Bodhirose
        Feb 19, 2011 @ 00:25:30

        Well they looked beautifully “serious” to me. Imagine what you could make if you really concentrated! šŸ™‚ I’m truly impressed by their beauty. The stitching and designs are lovely. Thanks for sharing those.

        If you do some more in the future–please share.

        Hugs… xoxo

        Reply

  4. ladynimue
    Feb 15, 2011 @ 23:42:24

    you must !! Am planning something same myself šŸ˜‰

    Reply

  5. Jingle
    Feb 03, 2011 @ 19:52:10

    love these,

    I know people who do this kind of art, thanks for showing here.

    Cheers.
    šŸ™‚

    Reply

  6. Scent of my heart
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 23:58:55

    These are lovely, woven with love as it seems. Thanks for sharing them with us!

    Reply

  7. Paula Tohline Calhoun
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 19:42:23

    Beautiful work!. Back in the days before I lost the use of my right hand, I did embroidery and crewel work – which I loved. I was basically self-taught, and generally learned to devise some of the stitches through trial and error, having no one in my immediate family who did that sort of work, although my Mom was very talented in a number of other handcrafts.

    I am so intrigued by your blog, and all the branches of it. Somewhere in it I noticed a mention of Med school entrance exams. Did you pursue medical studies, and are you a practitioner of any of the medical arts? Just curious. You are in no way obligated to answer that, although from reading some of your site, I see that you definitely have a mind of your own, and certainly can and will determine what you will or won’t disclose! šŸ˜€

    I will endeavor to refrain from asking too many questions, as i see that you prefer for people to discover who you are through reading your blog, which, BTW I am enjoying. So, I thank you for visiting my site! Though of decidedly different backgrounds and sensibilities, I nevertheless detect some interesting similarities between us. I too require and relish solitude, but my desire for it, originally, was engendered by long periods of “forced” solitude because of chronic illness. It has become my ally, and I am at my most creative when allowed long periods of solitude. The “permission” to be alone is granted by myself, as I m not required by any other person to engage one way or the other with those outside my times of singularity. I do have to prohibit my use of it, because it would be very easy to close myself off from the world around me, and I do enjoy relating with others via personal face-to-face contact, and I have a few very close friends in addition to my husband, who is my very best friend. Lucky me – I am richly blessed.

    Thanks again for introducing yourself to me via your poetry. I look forward to “expanding my horizons” through a virtual friendship with you. Blessings enough. . .

    Paula

    Reply

    • Olivia
      Feb 01, 2011 @ 23:01:17

      Hey Paula Darlung,
      Thanks for posting such a lovely comment. It took time for replying coz I wanted to be absolutely doing nothing else while doing so.

      You said you lost the use of your right hand and this is because..? Only if you are comfortable sharing.. any related post, send me the link; I’ll be more than happy to read it myself over. While you talked about your mom, my mom was an athlete and I am tad opposite, she could sing enough for others to laugh upon her singing ability; again, I am completely opposite. I once had wanted to pursue career in singing.. sigh!!

      Well, I am not a degree holder; however, had dared to diagnose my mom’s medical condition when all the doctors had failed to! It was a heartbreaking moment to realize that by that time it was too late! Thanks to my uncle, I could not enroll for the classes. I am really intrigued to notice that you have read me pretty well. I write this blog with a very open mind and although the questions may hit me at times; I try to answer them in the most understanding fashion- do you see a fat goose with a big beak smiling at you.. or it it geese..?

      Please feel free to ask about anything that you so wish to! That’s the whole point of my writing these blogs. I agree with the similarities part; because more often than not, I tend to stumble upon like minded people.. Good for me!! Solitude..? My friends, my spouse and my companion for ever I guess. It’s my solitude that pushed me into writing and then introducing me to beautiful people such as you are. Then again, you have read me really close.. šŸ™‚
      Definitely, you are blessed and that’s how it ought to be.. šŸ˜€

      You just said what I say in simple words- “glad to be stumbled upon you..”
      Thank you for your blessings- these always brighten up my days and equally lonesome nights.. Be generous and send me as much as you wish to.. I am greedy.. šŸ˜€

      Thank you once again for stopping by and sharing so much about you- I too look forward to take this virtual friendship to a newer dimension!!
      Loads of Love n wishes xoxoxox

      Reply

  8. trisha
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 19:34:55

    they are awesome.

    Reply

  9. Trackback: Tweets that mention Embroidery Samples Ā« Olivia's In- Mind Whirls.. -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

http://twitter.com/ReadOlivia

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

My In- Mind Whirls Writes

free counters
