Preparing to transit

..

Words come easy after a drink,
Opening me to a certain newness-
A spell that fits perfectly;

Into this dimension that is so dis-arrayed!

I breathe in some fresh air,
Letting my system revive.
Preparing for another battle-
Of leaving this place; creating a new world to thrive!

Bringing back the determination,
That had washed away in time..
I now live in anticipation;
Of the things that ‘ld happen n the steps I’ll have to climb!

..

Submitted for One Stop Poetry- One Shot Wednesday

..

28 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Raivenne
    May 27, 2011 @ 22:46:04

    “Bringing back the determination,
    That had washed away in time.”

    I love those lines! Wonderful One Shot.

    Rai
    http://wp.me/pPury-g5

    Reply

  2. Matt Coughlan
    May 26, 2011 @ 04:36:37

    Monkeys get angry when you chuck them. However, it’s better to have a chucked angry monkey out of range, then it is to have a nutty monkey on your back. Just be careful, monkeys are pretty quick! 😀

    Reply

  3. janice
    May 26, 2011 @ 02:59:34

    Olivia I love the lines
    “Bringing back the determination,
    That had washed away in time…”

    You define the process of growth in our lives
    and the paths we take, sometimes smooth and
    othertimes not. Thanks for writing this! Good job.

    Reply

    • Olivia
      May 26, 2011 @ 03:58:35

      Thank you Janice for appreciating this one.. This was the time when I had begun to realize that a transition was to hit me soon! A long way to go.. hopefully someday soon; I’ll write the concluding part too!!
      Thank you again n many hugs xoxoxox

      Reply

  4. Kavita
    May 25, 2011 @ 23:15:03

    Oh.. this I really like, Liv.. and can relate to too!! 🙂 But sometimes, the transit mode turns out to be longer than than the actual “travel time” ya know! whheewww

    Reply

    • Olivia
      May 25, 2011 @ 23:20:57

      You said it- what else am I brooding upon?? I hope it turns around for good- no matter how long a transit it’s proving to be.. 🙂
      Thank you for your wishes sweet bun xoxox

      Reply

  5. C Rose
    May 25, 2011 @ 20:21:06

    Bah too many poems open…my apologies and delete that last post. Uplifting piece Olivia – take the drink of life and feel its power. Beautiful ~ Rose

    Reply

    • Olivia
      May 25, 2011 @ 21:46:34

      I know what you mean- the other day, I had done something similar but somehow the comment was never posted n that’s when I realized what I had done.. lolssss
      (hope it was not you- hehehehe; now making it even! but her name was definitely one of those bwahaha)

      Thank you so much for your uplifting words.. hugs xxx

      Reply

  6. eclipseofthemoon
    May 25, 2011 @ 16:55:35

    Love the metaphore in this poem Olivia,
    life is a battle of making the right choices
    Well done as usual 🙂
    Love/Eclipse

    Reply

  7. Shashi
    May 25, 2011 @ 14:14:52

    Dear Olivia

    What a wonderful last lines…
    ‘I now live in anticipation;
    Of the things that ‘ld happen n the steps I’ll have to climb!’
    … you captured my imagination with the truthful saying about ‘Words come easy after a drink’ so true for me too…
    Thanks for sharing…

    Shashi
    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com/2011/05/whispers-buddha-and-life.html
    At Twitter @VerseEveryDay

    Reply

    • Olivia
      May 25, 2011 @ 14:44:01

      lolss Shashi!
      Indeed I become so verbal (writing n singing) after a drink or two (make it a couple of more before I stop for the evening..) Not only there’s a clarity while perceiving but has also a certain moment of truth! Said enough.. xox

      Reply

  8. tolbert
    May 25, 2011 @ 07:45:12

    the more i read your poetry the more i realize there is more here than first meets the eye. this week is certainly no exception, my friend…climbing those steps in transition is a powerful metaphor and ‘preparing for another battle~of leaving this place’ are excellent descriptions of that place we have previously walked. well done olivia!

    Reply

    • Olivia
      May 25, 2011 @ 13:34:27

      Thank you Tolbert!

      All my words here are a part of my real life- the life I am definitely begin to grow out of for good- the process is lengthy!
      At times; the curse turns out to be the biggest boon. How else would have I started doing these- if it was not because of solitude?

      Life has its own way of steering things to front.. Mega Hugs xoxoxox

      Reply

  9. Andy
    May 25, 2011 @ 06:43:19

    My dear girl,
    You have the right attitude and your image rocks!

    Be well…be strong…just be…

    My best wishes always.

    Reply

  10. steven
    May 25, 2011 @ 05:59:32

    i love the first line. in some way, it invites the reader in, making a connection and setting the stage for what is to come.

    great poem –

    Reply

  11. Belinda
    May 25, 2011 @ 04:58:54

    Anticipation is a good feeling…especially in the context of moving on.

    Reply

  12. Gay Cannon
    May 25, 2011 @ 04:44:31

    I like the dissolution of clarity in the last line. We’ve all been there at least a time or two. Always good to have that designated “driver” or shoulder to lean on whom you trust at the end of such nights. Sometimes more than clear thinking is impaired. Well written! Gay

    Reply

    • Olivia
      May 25, 2011 @ 13:39:53

      Thank you Gay!!
      Here, the shoulder I have been depending upon has become my crutches now.. and that’s what I am bent upon changing!

      Hopefully; soon enough I would make poems how I made that break.. 🙂 xx

      Reply

  13. brian
    May 25, 2011 @ 03:04:50

    nice…life is a journey and certain that battles will come…thankful for the fresh air blessing in between them…travel on, travel light…

    Reply

    • Olivia
      May 25, 2011 @ 13:41:29

      THANK YOU Brian!!!
      You said it just sooooo right.. only I keep immersing myself into another live arena from the previous one- lolss

      Reply

  14. Cheryl
    Feb 14, 2011 @ 08:57:47

    Well said, Olivia. Well said indeed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

http://twitter.com/ReadOlivia

My In- Mind Whirls Writes

free counters
