Pigeonic Limerick

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Those small little bunch of fluffy feathers,
They sit all day long stuffed up together-
Often perched on the veranda sill;
Hopping around- never keeping still,
Chirping away to glory no matter what may be the weather!

~*~*~

This one’s dedicated to my favorite pigeon pair! I call the male as “ghoonrh”, “gunrhgoon” after the sound it makes. Twice they have laid eggs and then perhaps broken them since I din’t see them after a couple of days. They again come back in a day’s time and start cochie- cooing!!

For more pics

This happens to be my 1st attempt on limerick. I had read the 1st one when I was 5 years old. I had liked the form for its simplicity and how it is done. I am hoping I could do justice with the form.

54 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pat Cegan
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 05:38:39

    Your limmerick is great fun and perfect with the pictures. Has the egg hatched yet? Are you a grandmother? More limmericks…I love them, too. Hugs, pat

    Reply

  2. Kodjo Deynoo
    Feb 28, 2011 @ 15:56:17

    This is brilliant, how do I vote for you Olivia

    Reply

  3. Trackback: The Celebrate Poet of Spring in 2011 Awards Nomination Accouncement | Promising Poets' Parking Lot
  4. lunawitch15
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 01:19:40

    Lol. I miss having fowl.

    Reply

  5. Amity
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 15:45:32

    Very nice…this one…:)) You gave me an idea…:)

    Reply

    • Olivia
      Feb 22, 2011 @ 16:09:19

      LOLss
      I can almost produce a mini- novel if I were to compile all the posts about these birds ๐Ÿ˜€

      Loved your visit here.. Hugs xxx

      Reply

  6. Caribbean Fool
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 10:27:30

    Aloha Olivia; apologies for not coming by more often to partake of your poetic vision. Glad to see your birds are doing well. In such a crazed world it’s a fine thing to help bring life & love to the world in whatever way you can dream up to do it. Hope you are doing well & finding some happiness in the day. Take care,

    crb.

    Reply

    • Olivia
      Feb 22, 2011 @ 16:12:53

      Not at all crb!
      We all have a mundane pattern set in our lives for us to walk upon.. lolss

      All’s well as long as you remember me and appreciate reading me.. ๐Ÿ™‚
      i’m kinda keeping occupied! Wishing you all the very best xox

      Reply

  7. scottf
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 02:41:18

    cute lil pidgees, I can almost see them!

    Reply

  8. Kavita
    Feb 21, 2011 @ 09:35:08

    I knooowww….it’s so nice to watch birds happily nestling in your home…isn’t it?? As long as they clean their own mess.. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Such a sweeet limerick, Liv…

    Reply

    • Olivia
      Feb 22, 2011 @ 16:04:13

      I know it’s weird.. But Kavs, they don’t mess around.. ๐Ÿ™‚
      They hop around, coochie- coo and make that obnoxious “ghoonrhgoon” sound- I guess they take pride in annoying me- lolss

      Hugs xx

      Reply

  9. Tweety
    Feb 20, 2011 @ 22:51:32

    nice one…i enjoyed it…

    Reply

  10. Someone is Special
    Feb 20, 2011 @ 11:12:36

    Love this Oliva..

    Someone is Special

    Reply

  11. aynsley7
    Feb 19, 2011 @ 08:49:25

    How cute!

    Reply

  12. Mike Patrick
    Feb 19, 2011 @ 05:10:31

    Wow! Took a lot of trips to make that nest. Great limerick.

    Reply

  13. brain of betty
    Feb 19, 2011 @ 01:58:16

    I admire your attempt at an official form of poetry. I don’t know any styles except haiku and I don’t even try those. I just vomit my soul to a page and try to rhyme haha. Don’t know what limerick is, but I’m sure you did better than I could!

    Reply

    • Olivia
      Mar 04, 2011 @ 21:57:57

      Thank you for your encouraging words Betty! Actually it’s lot wittier to do one of these.. they make me laugh even when I just think of the term- limerick ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply

  14. Bodhirose
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 23:33:06

    I just love those pigeons that make their home at your home! What a fun limerick on their behalf. I also enjoyed the photo slideshow.

    Have you ever seen any babies hatched? Did you ever think that some animal from outside has been coming and taking/eating the eggs. I guess there’s not much you could do about it though… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Always enjoy my visits here, Olivia!
    Love…

    Reply

    • Olivia
      Feb 18, 2011 @ 23:49:32

      hehehe..
      Here’s what happens.. The “gurhgoon” (as I call him) feels quite distracted after his partner keeps herself squatted on the single egg, as in the image. So, just when she is not watching, he takes that away and … I am guessing so because both the times this happened with striking similarity! He feels highly neglected. Infact, “goonrh” is so possessive that he doesn’t let other ones to sit anywhere around the birth- bath!! Anyday he sits on the nest making his sound, the other birds call for a party!

      I stay at the 2nd floor. This building is independently stood, so no one can crawl up, the terraces are also not joined..
      The 1st time I had observed. The 2nd time, I made precise calculations as in what date the egg will be gone and exactly when he would be back in my veranda annoying me in the morning! He didn’t let me down.. lolss

      Thanks for watching these so closely. I feel they were related to me in some birth- why else they would keep coming back even after I have scared them really bad? So bad that twice “goonrh” couldn’t fly away and almost sprawled on the floor thinking I would catch him. At other times I would have, but this time, I only wanted to scare him from my bedroom veranda. He takes pride in making his distinct noise at 7 in the morning!!

      But I guess, I like the bird.. ๐Ÿ˜€

      Love xoxoxoxox

      Reply

      • Bodhirose
        Feb 19, 2011 @ 00:38:07

        Yes, you must really love those birds to put up with their “guhrgoon” noises at 7AM! I would not be happy about that! But I probably would allow birds to nest outside my room too just because I love them so like you do. Perhaps you do have some past life connection with them… who knows?

        Well you surely know their behaviors very well. It made me laugh reading about how you tried to scare them away and making one sprawl with fear! Poor darlings. I think they feel quite comfortable right where they are.

        Thanks for sharing your stories with me.

        Hugs… xoxo

        Reply

        • Olivia
          Feb 19, 2011 @ 10:19:46

          Did I tell you, all those nests are hand made- I being the architect and my domestic being the builder..? lolss

          As if to honor both the times, they adorned it with an egg! If only “goonrh” behaved a bit, I would have let them be in the bedroom veranda.. ๐Ÿ˜€ Out of the entire flock, this is the only one making that darn noise! It’s not even “goon-tr-goon”; it’s some sort of meditative chant. Sitting low on floor, sticking the tail high up against the wall, it will make those noises in series, lightly moving its one wing alongwith in rhythm.. phewww!

          Some observation I made!

          Love xoxox

          Reply

          • Bodhirose
            Feb 20, 2011 @ 00:12:00

            No, I had no idea that you and your domestic were the builders of those nests–I thought the pigeons had made them. That makes it even more funny! ๐Ÿ™‚

            You and those meditating pigeons have a real bond. I wonder who/what they’re chanting about.

            Good observations too! I look forward to more pigeon stories.

            Love and hugs… xoxo

            Reply

            • Olivia
              Feb 20, 2011 @ 00:47:47

              lolss..
              Here’s the recipe- I mean D-I-Y steps. Take enough dry grass puffed up to make a cushion. Stuffing it up so well that it sits on its own. Then put some soft twigs- the ones that are hollow and would bend if you try to scratch the mud in the plant pot with it. Most of the twigs were brought by them, rest collected by me.. ๐Ÿ™‚

              Dear world, here is Olivia who specializes in building pigeon nests! So well, that once structured, the pair claims those to be their area and home.. really now!!
              Long live all the pigeons and my “goorhgoon” too. Wait, did I say my? I need to call it a day- I’m losing it now..

              Hugs xoxoxox

            • Bodhirose
              Feb 20, 2011 @ 10:04:58

              You couldn’t do better at making a nest if you were a pigeon yourself! You have it down to a very thought-out science. I’m sure those birds appreciate what you are doing for them! ๐Ÿ™‚

              Hugs… xoxo

            • Olivia
              Feb 20, 2011 @ 14:16:10

              Yeah! I am glad you understood the psyche. These birds have done more than I could have asked for. Maybe someday I could publish whatever changes they brought upon in my Life. The stories do sit in my blog for now. My 1st attempt on writing was about these. I had won- across the whole school!
              Amongst the other things, once they had completely lifted me out of a deadly phase.. I can talk to them as well! They seem to understand me- Okay, enough of being a lunatic-

              Long live the “goonrh” ๐Ÿ˜€
              Love xox

            • Bodhirose
              Feb 21, 2011 @ 00:58:48

              Nature is very soothing and uplifting to my soul too. Don’t discount the power of nature (even in the form of pigeons) to bring about miraculous healing and love to your life. You are no lunatic! I have several bird feeders and a couple of bird baths in my garden and I love to nurture these beautiful beings. I get such pleasure seeing them eating and enjoying the seed and baths.

              I talk to all animals too. I think they do understand on some level. They are more aware than we give them credit for. If nothing else they can sense our intention towards them–whether it’s harmful or loving.

              Long live all “gurhgoons” and “goonrhs”!

              Love and hugs for you… xo

      • frayedges
        Feb 19, 2011 @ 20:51:17

        Great story and great poem Olivia. It’s so good to be visiting again. I haven’t been around because I have been doing better in every sense of the word, so I haven’t spent as much time on my blog. Hope you are well.
        Hugs,
        Lisa

        Reply

        • Olivia
          Feb 19, 2011 @ 23:10:50

          wowie, I am so delighted to know that!!

          As long as you remember me, I would keep well.. ๐Ÿ™‚
          Since I stay indoors for the whole of my day, that’s why I have been blogging; although slacking reading things.. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

          Love n Humongous Hugs xoxox

          Reply

  15. NotATameLion
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 22:24:29

    Very nice. Perhaps I should write an ode for the handful of crows that decide to conversate outside of my window each morning…slightly before I want to wake up?

    Thanks for sharing this poem.

    Reply

  16. tasithoughts
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 22:05:54

    Reply

  17. lolamouse
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 21:29:54

    Such a sweet poem and such a lovely pair of lovebirds! Thanks for visiting my blog!

    Reply

  18. Rashmi
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 12:41:44

    Beautiful limerick…the pictures are so lovingly beautiful….

    Reply

  19. fiveloaf
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 11:52:58

    so cute this poem! thanks olivia for helping me in the network blog thing.. just in case you have not been, here’s my week 38 haha! http://fiveloaf.wordpress.com/2010/09/30/i-cant-hold-it/

    Reply

  20. Trackback: Thursday Poets Rally Week 38 (Feb 17-23) | Jingle
  21. Ina
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 01:12:32

    So sweet! So this is where peace can be found!

    Reply

  22. Jingle
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 23:39:22

    beautiful…

    your taste in poetry is outstanding…

    Cheers.
    ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  23. Krislin Neo, Ting (Syracuse Pike)
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 11:35:14

    This is lovely, something I never attempted.. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  24. ladynimue
    Feb 15, 2011 @ 23:30:04

    lovely limerick !! and nice pics .. i enjoyed the slide show ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

http://twitter.com/ReadOlivia

My In- Mind Whirls Writes

free counters
