Conflict

Aspiring Big throughout our lives;
Then losing it all at once!
It may be an American Lifestyle
To Me, it’s a Gothic trance.

I am left with this pitch- fork-
To dig my own grave..
It may appeal to you as American,
But I live in a Gothic cave!

~*~*~

This one’s posted for Echostain’s Poetry Challenge, Theme- ‘American Gothic’. The image is the prompt. To know more about this and take up the challenge, yourself click the link as given in the theme.

Kavita, thank you for chatting me up into it!

Submitted for- One Stop Poetry- One Shot Wednesday

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tolbert
    Mar 18, 2011 @ 09:42:08

    Great take on this one Olivia! Those first two lines are so true and then the third and fourth bring the picture into focus. But then…wow!

    I am left with this pitch- fork-
    To dig my own grave…

    Powerful look at the painting and yet also a powerful look at where we are in this American lifestyle. Thanks for causing me to pause and reflect.

    Reply

  2. Shashi
    Mar 17, 2011 @ 07:32:32

    Dear Olivia

    I liked your take on this image.. so strong and yes, I agree with Brian, it will take a long time to achieve that digging of grave with Pitch Fork… 😉

    ॐ शांति ॐ
    Om Shanti Om
    May peace be… praying for People of Japan
    http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com/2011/03/whispers-love-and-insignificance.html
    Connect me at Twitter @VerseEveryDay

    Reply

  3. barbara
    Mar 16, 2011 @ 23:01:04

    A Gothic Cave…what a great line Olivia —left with a pitch-fork..nice writing…bkm

    Reply

  4. dustus
    Mar 16, 2011 @ 20:30:42

    Trying to dig a grave with a pitch fork is like attempting to eat a meal with a tooth pick. Not appealing to this American. I think there is much truth to your poem, Olivia.

    Reply

  5. brian
    Mar 16, 2011 @ 14:54:02

    ha. that is american alright…it take forever to dig graves with pitchforks too so betterget started now…

    Reply

  6. Trackback: Don’t Wear Your Iglasses « bended spoon
  7. Jessica
    Mar 02, 2011 @ 22:07:22

    Glad you found this challenge, Olivia!
    I like your use of the pitchfork!
    Well done.

    Reply

  8. Kellie Elmore
    Mar 02, 2011 @ 19:02:49

    I am left with this pitch- fork-
    To dig my own grave..
    what a profound statement. you always amaze me Olivia! 🙂 your brilliant!

    ps… are you on twitter? 🙂

    kellie

    Reply

  9. echostains
    Mar 02, 2011 @ 14:55:53

    Now that is a very original use for a pitchfork Olivia…..and quite Gothic 🙂 I’m adding your poem to the page now 🙂 Thanks for joining in with this challenge (which is still open by the way)

    Reply

  10. Scent of my heart
    Mar 02, 2011 @ 13:55:26

    That was very creative, how well your words go with the image Liv. Hugs!

    Reply

  11. Kavita
    Mar 02, 2011 @ 13:29:49

    Boooyyy!! It’s gonna take him a while to dig his grave with that! 🙂
    I liked what you did with the image, girl…. NICE!!
    The idea of being almost there…but yet so far.. (sigh)
    I felt for these two here.. 🙂

    Love your rhymes… you are too good, lady!!

    Reply

    • Olivia
      Mar 02, 2011 @ 13:50:37

      Really Kavz!
      I wonder how deep you went to read it this well! I can’t Thank you enough for discussing about this last night n your morning- hahaha

      You the American, I the Gothic- lolss

      Reply

Leave a Reply

http://twitter.com/ReadOlivia

My In- Mind Whirls Writes

free counters
